In Arizona, the statute of limitations for filing a personal injury lawsuit is two years from the date of the accident. This means that individuals who have been injured due to the negligence of another must initiate a claim within two years from the date of the cause of action. The law applies to cases of wrongful death, robbery, home invasion, medical negligence, and personal injury. The statute of limitations for an alleged medical malpractice action in Arizona is also two years.
Under the rule of discovery that is followed in Arizona, the cause of action does not accumulate until the patient knows or should have known that the negligence occurred. For defamation or slander lawsuits, which are a subset of personal injury law, the statute of limitations is one year. However, some exceptions may apply when it takes more than a year for a person to reasonably realize that an injury has occurred. In all injury-related matters, it is essential that prompt action is taken to preserve evidence, investigate the accident in question, and file a lawsuit before the deadline imposed by the statute of limitations. For minors, the two-year statute of limitations is extended until they reach the age of majority, which is 18 years in Arizona. In Scottsdale, Arizona Law Section 12-542 (ARS) establishes the statute of limitations for car accident claims. Individuals who have lawsuits against a public entity or public employee must file a complaint with the person or persons authorized to accept service on behalf of the public entity or public employee within 180 days of the date the cause of action occurred. While there are exceptions and ways to extend the two-year period, in general, it is important to take quick action to claim your right in accordance with the legal principle that no one can sleep on their right.
Depending on the nature and circumstances of the accident, certain exceptions could increase or decrease the usual time limit for a personal injury lawsuit in Arizona.